Points and Driving Suspensions. What You need to Know
Driving in the State of Florida is a privilege. If you break the traffic laws or become an unsafe driver, your license can be taken away. It can be suspended, revoked or canceled. Since Florida has “reciprocal agreements” with most of the other states, the loss or suspension is also applied to those states if you have privileges there, or you have neglected to pay a ticket in another state.
Running a Red Light, Passing a Stopped School Bus, Racing on a Highway, or Reckless Driving
Effective October 1, 2009, Florida requires any operator convicted of Running a Red Light, Passing a Stopped School Bus, Racing on a Highway (including spectators), or Reckless Driving to complete the 4 hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course. All drivers, even CDL holders, are required to complete this course. Failure to complete the course will result in the operator’s driving privileges being suspended.
All drivers, except CDL holders and those convicted of Passing a Stopped School Bus on the enter/exit side (court appearance required), may “Elect” to attend the required 4 Hour BDI school in lieu of points. If the violator “Elects” to attend school for the above violations, the Points will be withheld and that Election will satisfy the requirements of F.S. 322.0261(4).
If a violator does not choose to Elect to attend school, Points will be added to their record for 3 years and the Florida DMV will automatically generate a notice advising the violator that they must attend a 4 Hour BDI course (Basic Driver Instruction) School within 90 days from the date of the notice. The notice will be generated and sent to the driver upon information being received at the DMV after the fine is paid. If the driver fails to complete the defensive driving school course within 90 days after receiving notice from the Florida DHSMV, the operator’s driver license shall be canceled until the course is successfully completed.
The Point System
Here is the point system for traffic violations in Florida. It’s important to remember that a single incident can have multiple violations. Therefore the points added to your record will be equal to the total of each violation.
Example: If your traffic stop included a ticket for “Unlawful Speed — in excess of 15 mph” AND another citation for not using your turn signal when changing lanes, then you will earn a total of 7 points.
- Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50.00 6
- Unlawful speed resulting in a crash 6
- Reckless driving, willful and wanton (Criminal Traffic) violations 4
- Passing a stopped school bus 4
- Unlawful Speed — in excess of 15 mph of lawful or posted speed 4
- Unlawful Speed — less than 15 mph of lawful or posted speed 3
- Violation of Child Restraint Laws 3
- All other moving violations (including parking on a highway outside the limits of a municipality 3
- Any moving violation NOT covered above, excluding unlawful speed, resulting in a crash 4
- Any conviction under s.403.413(5)(b) Florida Litter Law 3
- Violation of S 316.0741(HOV / Car Pool Lanes) or S 316.2065 (Bicycle Regulations) 0
How long do Points stay on your license in Florida
Points stay on your license for a period of 36 months or 3 years. The time begins on the day the driver pays the fine and the citation clears the county. For drivers that opted to go to court and were adjudicated “guilty”, the points start on the day all court ordered requirements are satisfied. It is important to recognize that insurance increases resulting from the Citation will typically remain in effect for at least this 3 year period or the date you lost your “Safe Driver” status.
Length of Point Suspensions
The length of Driving Privileges Suspension varies according to how many points you receive over a period of time. Remember –points stay on your driving record for 3 years (36 months) and are NOT removed after you have served a Suspension. Additionally, Florida requires persons to complete the 12 Hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course (ADI class) prior to reinstating their Privileges for a Points Suspension.
- 12 Points within a 12 month period — 30 day Suspension
- 18 Points within a 18 month period — 90 day Suspension
- 24 Points within a 36 month period — 1 Year Suspension
Guy Seligman can help you restore your suspended drivers license in:
Palm Beach County Florida including: Boca Raton , Delray Beach and Boynton Beach, West Palm Beach, Maritin, St Lucie and Indian River Counties, Lake Worth, West Palm Beach, Jupiter, Stuart,Port St Lucie, Okeechobee, Belle Glade, Vero Beach, Palm Bay Palm Beach, Martin, St Lucie and Indian River counties.
Miami, Dade County: Miami, Hialeah, Miami Beach and the Florida Keys.
Broward County Florida: Hollywood, Fort Lauderdale, Pompano, Deerfield Beach, Coral Springs and all of Broward County.
Central Florida including: Orlando, Winter Park, Winterhaven, Kissimmee, Ocala, Atlamonte Springs, Deland, Melbourne, Daytona.
The West Coast of Florida: Tampa, Brandon, Clearwater, St Pete, New Port Richey, Brooksville, Sarasota, Naples, Venice, Bradenton, Fort Myers, Cape Coral and all of Hernanado, Citrus, Pasco, Pinnellas, Hillsboro, Sarasota, Manatee, Lee and Collier counties.
Northeast Florida: Jacksonville, Jacksonville Beach, St. Augustine, Orange Park all of Northeast Florida including: Marion, Sumter, Flager and Duval counties; Northwest Florida including: Tallahassee, Pensacola, Panama City and Starke.